As you may know, earlier this fall, Connecticut’s new car seat law took effect. Many of you may still have questions. Connecticut Children’s Medical Center created this great, step by step video, to help explain exactly what changed about the law and what you need to do to keep your little ones safe.
Connecticut’s New Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Effective October 1, 2017
Rear-Facing Car Seats
Rear-facing car seats must now be used until a child is 2 years old and 30 pounds (previously, CT state law stated a child must be 1 year and 20 pounds).
Make sure the straps are tightened firmly to the child’s body and are positioned at or below shoulder height. The chest clip must be positioned at the center of the chest.
Forward-Facing Car Seats
A child can be turned forward-facing when they are 2 years and 30 pounds. Use a forward-facing, 5-point harness car seat until the child turns 5 years and 40 pounds.
Make sure the straps are tightened firmly to the child’s body and are positioned at or above shoulder height. The chest clip must be positioned at the center of the chest.
A child may transition to a booster seat when he or she is 5 years and 40 pounds. A booster seat must be used until the child is 8 years and 60 pounds.
A booster seat elevates the child so that the seat belt system fits them as it would an adult. The shoulder strap should be positioned over the chest and shoulder, while the lap position should go over the hips. Neither the shoulder or lap belts should go over any soft tissue, such as the neck or abdomen.
Is your car seat installed correctly?
About Connecticut Children’s Medical Center
As a parent, your number one priority is keeping your child well. As Connecticut’s only free-standing children’s hospital, ours is too. Learn more at www.connecticutchildrens.org.